Saturday, April 25, 2009

9 miles

I did it.  Not as hard as I had made it out to be.  Every week I think "the run is going to be hard" and then I go, and it isn't......yet! The hardest part is making sure there is a public bathroom somewhere near the start because my tummy gets freaked out every sat morn!!!! I think I get nervous about the drive to portland by myself and get an upset tummy....every freakin week! So there is always the pre-run emergancy poop.....then I'm good! Today I was thanking the gods that whole foods was open....I did have to buy something to get the bathroom code on the bottom of the receipt.....but it was worth the dollar...lol! I should keep that reciept in case I'm ever in the pearl district and need a bathroom! They probably don't change the code very often?
So next week is 10 miles....that is a milestone for me. One of those numbers that I never thought I would get to. Not that 9 miles isn't a lot....it's just that ten is double digits!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I'll be running half marathon distance in three weeks! Run Forest, Run!!!!!!

Friday, April 24, 2009

Tomorrow

I have a 9 mile run for tomorrow....problem is I had to skip the 8 mile run last weekend due to stomache issues. I got one 3.5 mile run in this week, so tomorrow may not be as fun as the last couple group runs have been! Hopefully I will run 9 miles like a champ and move on! 

Saturday, April 11, 2009

Training run revisited

We ran 7 miles in tualatin this morning.  The rain stayed away, and it was a little warmer than last week.  It really wasn't any harder than the 6 mile run last week.  I spent the afternoon tasting wines and trying out yummy sweets at the beer and wine festival in Portland.  Probably should have drank some more water today...but what fun is that?  I am planning on a short run tomorrow....as long as my joints aren't thinking otherwise! I do owe Lucy a run! 

Saturday, April 4, 2009

First run down!!

This morning was the first marathon training run.  Niketown opend up for us at 7:30 to gather before the race.  There were a lot of people, all levels of runners.  The pacers were great and gave us a lot of good info.  I wasn't sure if I was going to run 4 or 6 miles, but after we had run 2 I decided I could do 6.  I did, for the first time ever. It felt so good to accomplish that goal.  I am ready for 7 next week.  I met a cool running buddy, someone to chat with while we plug away.  We have a long way to go, but I am optimistic that I will make it to at least a half marathon!