Sunday, January 25, 2009
hurt again
So I guess I have to change my strategy. I keep pulling muscles in my lower legs when I run and it is very frustrating. Each time it happens I have to take 4-5 days off to recoup so I don't reinjure. That is one more week of not losing weight and one less week of training. So my new strategy is to incorporate yoga by doing some each day and specifically just prior to my run. It should warm my muscles up enough to run in the cold and hopefully give me some extra strength to haul around the extra 20 lbs I'm carrying! Strength training is going to have to make a comeback in my routine. I hate doing it alone, miss my trainer, but I have to get some muscles back. So that means back to the gym...UGH!
Saturday, January 17, 2009
8
Finally! I went for a run in the sunshine this morning. I got in the whole run without any pain in my calf. I was really relieved. Taking a week off was a good thing however because I cut 50sec of of my mile time! 2.69mi/27.29 min 10.16 min mi. I have a short week at school so I should be able to get a few runs in this week. Have to get ready for my five miler in march....
Tuesday, January 13, 2009
craaaaap
So I guess two days off from running wasn't enough to heal whatever crap happened to my calf. I spent 10 minutes stretching tonight before I went for a run. I got about 1.25 miles away from my house with no pain and then all of the sudden...I get a sharp pain at the base of my calf agian, just like the other day. I tried to strech it out and kept running on it for awhile but it got worse and worse. So I hobbled home and I guess its three or four days off to let whatever it is get better. ugh!
7ish
I have had a really stressful week at school...my muscles were all tight and I was even walking funny. So I decided that I would go for a run to relieve some stress. So I started out and felt really good. I noticed that my pace was pretty quick and I wasn't struggling with the first mile as much as usual. Then I came to a little hill that I run all of the time. I got about half way up and felt a sharp pain in my calf. I thought maybe it was a tight muscle that would relax after a few more steps so I kept running and it got worse and worse. SO I stopped and tried to strech it out. Walked a little, then tried to run again. Then it really hurt and when I tried to walk again, I couldn't put weight on my right foot...just my toe! So I hopped home, but I was really pissed because the run had been going so well and I really needed the stress release and I knew that I wouldn't be able to run for 3 or 4 days. So I'm hopping down the sidewalk, with my dog on a leash, crying and cussing because I'm so stressed and pissed and it hurts too! Thanks god it was dark and no one was out walking! They would have probably had me committed!
Friday, January 9, 2009
6
3.16 mi/33.59 min 10.61min/mi
made me pretty happy to improve a little. Bought new road bikes toady....so now my training will be multi-faceted!
school is stressing me out to the MAX so the excercise is really necessary!
Saturday, January 3, 2009
5
Today I hit the gym with my sis. It felt really good to go and work out really hard. We did intervals on all of the cardio equipment....stairmaster, eliptical and bike. It wasn't the treadmill intervals that I was planning, but the treadmills were full with all of the "new years resolutioners." That drives me crazy! The first 2-3 weeks of the year, and the gym is full of people in street clothes, walking on the treadmill in work boots, sitting around on the weight machines. They will stay there for hours and not do much of anything except get in the way! Seriously when is the gym full at noon on sat? Jan 3rd!
Friday, January 2, 2009
4
I ventured out today in spite of snowy sidewalks. Most of it had melted and it looked like we could avoid ice so we went for it! We ran 2.75mi/29.46min which is a 10.71 min mile.....about 1.24 min faster than my first run. That makes me feel good. At least I am improving, even though I still feel like I am running in sand! I am planning to hit the gym tomorrow for the first time in five months to do some intervals on the treadmill. Change it up a little. Yea for improvements...however small!
Thursday, January 1, 2009
3
I took two days off and went for a very rainy run today. It was pouring and Lucy and I got soaked. But we ran 3 miles without stopping....unfortunately I hit the stop button on my garmin about halfway through my run so I don't know how long it took! Taking two days off was not a good idea. I think it would be better if I ran a little every day, rather than breaking up a few long runs over a week. I need to build a base, strengthen my back and get my lungs stronger so that I can do the longer runs later on....but staying on track and making a habit of running every day would probably be a good idea right now.
I watched Devil Wears Prada yesterday and that movie is a definite motivator....so many cute outfits and skinny girls! I think I need to find a really good (cheezy) movie about running!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)