Saturday, June 6, 2009

7 miles revisited

Lucy and I ran 7 miles this morning after a very nice breakfast of homemade biscuits and gravy!!! My intention was to run at 730 and then have breakfast...but the run got postponed til 1130! I still miss running with the group, but if I can remember to charge my MP3 player, it will help pass the time.  Running for 82 min with no music and no one to talk to but myself gets a little boring! I was happy that upon my finish, I had no pain! No leg pain, blisters, foot pain......nada! I did some serious streching and hopefully this is a new development that will continue.  I am going to try for three more short runs this week before my 8 miler next sat.  We will ride 20 miles tomorrow morning.  We decided (after Casey crashed twice last week) that riding on the road is way safer than riding on paved trails.....there are dogs, kids, stupid people and numerous other hazards along the paved trails and they are usually just around a tight corner! Casey ended up falling on both sides so he has evenly distributed road rash and bruising.  I am pretty sure we will be staying off of the paved paths unless we are on a race route! One more thing that I am happy about is my discovery of chamois butter!!!! For running and for cycling.....keeps the cheeks very happy! Love that stuff! 

Saturday, May 30, 2009

Starting over

So I kind of gave up on the group runs. My stupid blister took me out long enough to get too far behind and so I am starting over.  I have time, and Lucy likes running with me. I dug out the Garmin, leashed up Lou and we ran 6 miles this morning.  We are going to add a mile each week and once we hit 11, revisit it several weekends in a row.  I want my first half marathon to be the first time I run 13 miles.  Then I will re evaluate and decide if I'm going for 26.2 or just working on a faster 13.1!  I got a little frustrated because my marathon run leader said that training for a marathon and losing weight do not go well together.  She said if you eat so little that you are losing weight, then you can't be getting enough to recouperate after a run and you will get injured and sick all of the time. So I'm thinking that if my goal is to lose 25 lbs this summer, then I should stick to half marathons.  There is one every month through november so I have plenty to do! Tomorrow we are going on another bike ride.  This weather makes it so nice to hop on the bikes and go! We are getting ready for the bridge pedal and the portland century and shouldn't have any trouble getting up to 40-50 miles by aug. We just have to get up really early to beat the heat on weekends like this! It was 75 by 9am this morning and little black dog had her tongue hanging all the way to the pavement.....I forget how long her tongue is until summer!! HAHAHA! Motivation for my midweek runs is running thin.  I get tired sitting in class all day or on my clinical day getting up at 4 am.  Hard to summon the energy to go run.  Once I do it, I feel great. At least it's not cold and dark out! Couldn't we find somewhere to live that has perpetually nice weather all year!!! A little rain, a little snow, but mostly just blue skies and 75 degrees all year round????

Saturday, May 2, 2009

10 mile blister

10 mile run in george rogers park today.  That was a good find....pretty place. The run was a little hilly, but I didn't have any trouble until the last couple miles when I felt the beginings of a blister on my big toe. It didn't hurt, but it looks pretty gnarly!  Going to let it go for a day and hope it starts to drain! Kinda hard to do the rest of my runs with a big fat blister!  Can't believe I ran 10 miles today.....pretty big deal for me.  On top of that I am feeling pretty accomplished for driving to the run sites on my own in portland. That is something I really never thought I would be doing.  The GPS is awesome and really helps, but I am getting to know my way around NW portland, lake oswego, tualitin and downtown portland.   

Saturday, April 25, 2009

9 miles

I did it.  Not as hard as I had made it out to be.  Every week I think "the run is going to be hard" and then I go, and it isn't......yet! The hardest part is making sure there is a public bathroom somewhere near the start because my tummy gets freaked out every sat morn!!!! I think I get nervous about the drive to portland by myself and get an upset tummy....every freakin week! So there is always the pre-run emergancy poop.....then I'm good! Today I was thanking the gods that whole foods was open....I did have to buy something to get the bathroom code on the bottom of the receipt.....but it was worth the dollar...lol! I should keep that reciept in case I'm ever in the pearl district and need a bathroom! They probably don't change the code very often?
So next week is 10 miles....that is a milestone for me. One of those numbers that I never thought I would get to. Not that 9 miles isn't a lot....it's just that ten is double digits!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I'll be running half marathon distance in three weeks! Run Forest, Run!!!!!!

Friday, April 24, 2009

Tomorrow

I have a 9 mile run for tomorrow....problem is I had to skip the 8 mile run last weekend due to stomache issues. I got one 3.5 mile run in this week, so tomorrow may not be as fun as the last couple group runs have been! Hopefully I will run 9 miles like a champ and move on! 

Saturday, April 11, 2009

Training run revisited

We ran 7 miles in tualatin this morning.  The rain stayed away, and it was a little warmer than last week.  It really wasn't any harder than the 6 mile run last week.  I spent the afternoon tasting wines and trying out yummy sweets at the beer and wine festival in Portland.  Probably should have drank some more water today...but what fun is that?  I am planning on a short run tomorrow....as long as my joints aren't thinking otherwise! I do owe Lucy a run! 

Saturday, April 4, 2009

First run down!!

This morning was the first marathon training run.  Niketown opend up for us at 7:30 to gather before the race.  There were a lot of people, all levels of runners.  The pacers were great and gave us a lot of good info.  I wasn't sure if I was going to run 4 or 6 miles, but after we had run 2 I decided I could do 6.  I did, for the first time ever. It felt so good to accomplish that goal.  I am ready for 7 next week.  I met a cool running buddy, someone to chat with while we plug away.  We have a long way to go, but I am optimistic that I will make it to at least a half marathon! 

Friday, March 27, 2009

Might need a wheelchair tomorrow!

I have been working out like crazy and eating healthy for four days.  I hit the gym with my sis yesterday and today. We worked out with her personal trainer both days.  Right now I can't move my arms above my head and my butt muscles are spasming.  I am pretty sure that tomorrow I won't be able to walk....but if I am just a little smaller and a little stronger by the end of next week, it will all be worth it! Two more trainer sessions next week, and then Sat.  is the first group run with the marathon trainers!

Thursday, March 19, 2009

Crash

I tried to be good and get in a work out this morning.  A friend showed up with her bike and off we went.  We got about 2 miles from the house and WHAM! I was going pretty fast and lost my balance, hit the curb and flew off my bike and  skidded across the sidewalk.....so graceful! I didn't break anything although I did leave some skin behind on the road! My front tire was flat so I had to walk the bike back home! As the day goes by, I am getting more sore.....can't wait to see what I feel like tomorrow....and see what my leg looks like...I can feel the bruise coming! Ankle to knee, front and side of my leg.  Nice road rash on my leg and arm.  Thank god I was wearing long pants and two long sleeve shirts and gloves!  

Tuesday, March 17, 2009

Next!

I have made my list of the upcoming races.  Hopefully I can find a few more to sprinkle in.  
Cinco De Mayo 10k (May), 
Reach the Bridge 8k (June), 
LaCamas Half Marathon (July), 
PDX run america Half Marathon (Aug),  
Bridge Pedal (bike) (Aug), 
Portland Century (bike) (Aug), 
Run Like Hell Half Marathon (Oct).
 Looks like I need a race in September!!!! 

Sunday, March 15, 2009

Shamrock 8k...Check!

SO it was this morning.....the weather was a little better than craptastic.  It was pouring and windy...thankfully the temp was up to a whopping 46 degrees so I can't say it was freezing.  I ran the whole thing...5.2 miles in 57min.  I felt really good because I was in better shape than a whole bunch of skinnies.....you know with me it is all about comparing myself to others, sadly! But I never walked, even when the whole 2nd and 3rd mile were uphill! The last mile was downhill so that was the saving grace! I am already busy finding the next race....signing up for them keeps me from slacking! 

Thursday, March 5, 2009

5.25

I am ready for the shamrock run....I ran 5.25mi under 1 hour tonight.  That is the farthest I have run in years! Pretty effin impressed with myself! Gets me feeling good about half marathon training too....almost halfway to a half! I am going to do it this year!

Monday, March 2, 2009

4.2

I think I will be okay on March 15th! I ran 4.2 miles tonight for the second time....the mp3 player is really helping out! I've doubled my push up max in one week and I'll hit the 200 situps before spring break starts! The gun show is on it's way to town!

Thursday, February 26, 2009

New challenge

My friend turned me on to a website that has a free training program for 100 pushups and 200 situps.  It has you do an intro test and than tells you which program to follow.  Three days a week, six weeks and you are doing 100 push ups and 200 situps! I started today and could do 5 pushups and 60 sit ups....we'll see how long it takes! 

Wednesday, February 25, 2009

Finally, a good one

I went for a run that made me feel like I will do okay in my upcoming race.  I ran four miles like it was nothing.  If it hadn't been for a tight ankle, I would have gone farther.  My lungs were ok, my legs were hangin in there and it was fun running in the snow! Good confidence builder! I think the jump roping and strength training is working! 

Saturday, February 21, 2009

Three weeks to go till my first race

That's right! THree weeks and I am not quite ready.  The race isn't set up for walkers and I don't want to have to walk any of it...especially bymyself! LOSER! So I ran today, with my new mp3 player.  It makes a nice big difference! It helps with the "first 1.5 mile drag."  It does help keep my mind off my pain.  It was really nice today and we ran about 4 miles, but not quite all of it.  I walked a couple times in there.  I added in some cross training to get this tub back in shape. I am doing some jump rope for cardio, biking, and if I'm really bored (and alone) I put on music and dance for an hour or so.....dorky, but fun! I started sqats, lunges, ab work, planks, punches with weights, pushups and whatever else I think of on the fly.  Going for three times a week with the strength training.  It should make a difference in my endurance. The lbs are starting to creep very slowly off.  16 lbs to go til I stop cringing at the scale. I'm addicted to this show.."Last 10 lbs bootcamp".  Hot trainer and nutritionist (not hot) help one chick lose 10+ lbs and at least a dress size in 4 weeks with serious diet and excercise.  It is very motivational and I watch it while I work out.  Jump rope the commercials and strength train during the show.  Got my diet under control.  Two protein shakes a day, two snacks and a light meal.  Finally kicked the sugar cravings! Dropping some lbs should make running a whole lot easier! 

Sunday, February 8, 2009

way behind but still trying

I have been doing yoga every day since I hurt my calf...and I can tell a difference.  I went for a run at the WSU campus and it is crazy hard!!!! Hills, Hills, Hills.  Now I know where my hills workout will be.  My hero of a hubby also bought a trainer for our bikes so we can ride our hot new wheels in the house since it is rarely out of the 30's yet.  So I am alternating between walking, jogging hills, biking and then yoga each day.  I have yet to run more than 3 miles and I am starting to feel a little nervous about the 5mile run in March and if I will be ready to start team running on apr.4th.  The first run is only 4 miles, but I need a good base.  When will my mojo come back....I miss my running partner!

Sunday, January 25, 2009

hurt again

So I guess I have to change my strategy.  I keep pulling muscles in my lower legs when I run and it is very frustrating. Each time it happens I have to take 4-5 days off to recoup so I don't reinjure.  That is one more week of not losing weight and one less week of training. So my new strategy is to incorporate yoga by doing some each day and specifically just prior to my run.  It should warm my muscles up enough to run in the cold and hopefully give me some extra strength to haul around the extra 20 lbs I'm carrying! Strength training is going to have to make a comeback in my routine. I hate doing it alone, miss my trainer, but I have to get some muscles back.  So that means back to the gym...UGH!

Saturday, January 17, 2009

8

Finally!  I went for a run in the sunshine this morning.  I got in the whole run without any pain in my calf.  I was really relieved.  Taking a week off was a good thing however because I cut 50sec of of my mile time! 2.69mi/27.29 min  10.16 min mi.  I have a short week at school so I should be able to get a few runs in this week. Have to get ready for my five miler in march....

Tuesday, January 13, 2009

craaaaap

So I guess two days off from running wasn't enough to heal whatever crap happened to my calf.  I spent 10 minutes stretching tonight before I went for a run.  I got about 1.25 miles away from my house with no pain and then all of the sudden...I get a sharp pain at the base of my calf agian, just like the other day. I tried to strech it out and kept running on it for awhile but it got worse and worse.  So I hobbled home and I guess its three or four days off to let whatever it is get better. ugh!

7ish

I have had a really stressful week at school...my muscles were all tight and I was even walking funny.  So I decided that I would go for a run to relieve some stress. So I started out and felt really good.  I noticed that my pace was pretty quick and I wasn't struggling with the first mile as much as usual.  Then I came to a little hill that I run all of the time.  I got about half way up and felt a sharp pain in my calf.  I thought maybe it was a tight muscle that would relax after a few more steps so I kept running and it got worse and worse.  SO I stopped and tried to strech it out.  Walked a little, then tried to run again.  Then it really hurt and when I tried to walk again, I couldn't put weight on my right foot...just my toe! So I hopped home, but I was really pissed because the run had been going so well and I really needed the stress release and I knew that I wouldn't be able to run for 3 or 4 days.  So I'm hopping down the sidewalk, with my dog on a leash, crying and cussing because I'm so stressed and pissed and it hurts too! Thanks god it was dark and no one was out walking! They would have probably had me committed!

Friday, January 9, 2009

6

3.16 mi/33.59 min  10.61min/mi

made me pretty happy to improve a little.  Bought new road bikes toady....so now my training will be multi-faceted!  
school is stressing me out to the MAX so the excercise is really necessary!

Saturday, January 3, 2009

5

Today I hit the gym with my sis.  It felt really good to go and work out really hard. We did intervals on all of the cardio equipment....stairmaster, eliptical and bike.  It wasn't the treadmill intervals that I was planning, but the treadmills were full with all of the "new years resolutioners."  That drives me crazy! The first 2-3 weeks of the year, and the gym is full of people in street clothes, walking on the treadmill in work boots, sitting around on the weight machines.  They will stay there for hours and not do much of anything except get in the way! Seriously when is the gym full at noon on sat?  Jan 3rd!

Friday, January 2, 2009

4

I ventured out today in spite of snowy sidewalks.  Most of it had melted and it looked like we could avoid ice so we went for it! We ran 2.75mi/29.46min which is a 10.71 min mile.....about 1.24 min faster than my first run.  That makes me feel good. At least I am improving, even though I still feel like I am running in sand! I am planning to hit the gym tomorrow for the first time in five months to do some intervals on the treadmill.  Change it up a little. Yea for  improvements...however small!

Thursday, January 1, 2009

3

I took two days off and went for a very rainy run today. It was pouring and Lucy and I got soaked. But we ran 3 miles without stopping....unfortunately I hit the stop button on my garmin about halfway through my run so I don't know how long it took!  Taking two days off was not a good idea.  I think it would be better if I ran a little every day, rather than breaking up a few long runs over a week.  I need to build a base, strengthen my back and get my lungs stronger so that I can do the longer runs later on....but staying on track and making a habit of running every day would probably be a good idea right now. 
I watched Devil Wears Prada yesterday and that movie is a definite motivator....so many cute outfits and skinny girls!  I think I need to find a really good (cheezy) movie about running!